New baby clothes from charity shops

It’s been a busy few months preparing for the arrival of our baby who is now due any day. We have also managed to renovate an entire house too in less than 7 months – rather stressful times! Le bump is now huge and I am on intravenous raspberry leaf tea whilst eating industrial volumes of pineapple and spicy food in a bid to avoid being induced at the end of next week. Fingers crossed.

Me & bump

Me & bump collecting nosh from the garden kitchen

I have been in my element embracing my thrifty approach to spending in advance of the new arrival. You’ll be surprised how much you don’t need to spend on top quality secondhand baby gear from charity shops, eBay and nearly new sales. Expectant parents fork out on average (2012 data) £1,345* but I suspect some people spend a vast amount more given buggies alone can set you back up to £1k. And that’s before you’ve bought the sheep-skin foot muff.

One necessity is baby clothes and I have been steadily building up a collection of little outfits from charity shops with the help of my sister and Mum.  We don’t know the sex so we’ve had to stick to neutral colours but so far we’ve built up a fab collection of little baby grows to get us through the first few weeks. All of the below have hardly been worn and some cost as little as 20p. All were less than £1. Some are more boy / girl but hey, we don’t have an issue with the blue / pink theme anyway. I’ve given them a wash and they’re as good as new.

Spotty baby grow and hat

Spotty baby grow and hat

Baby vest

Baby vest

Vests

Vests

Red works for both girls and boys

Red works for both girls and boys

Vest

Vest

Of course, I have loved buying a couple of brand new outfits but until we know what we’re having, I have literally bought very little other than from charity shops.  I will admit to buying a new buggie (Uppababy Vista in case you’re interested) however we intend to sell this after we have used it if we can keep it in tip top condition.

Into thrifty baby spending too? Check these sites out: 

Baby Swap Shop – buy, swap and sell your secondhand baby gear

Shop and Swap 4 Kids – for all my Aussie readers out there, this is for you. It’s for older kids not babies.

eBay – the first place I hit for second hand stuff

* Source: http://www.aviva.com/media/news/item/uk-first-time-parents-spend-425-million-preparing-for-baby-16375/