Make your own baby bibs

I always keep my eyes open for material and wool from charity shops so I was over the moon when I came across a job lot of Tana Lawn Liberty of London fabric for only £5 a couple of months ago.

Tana Lawn Liberty fabric

Tana Lawn Liberty fabric

Someone I follow on Instagram recently posted a snap of some posh bibs she made using similar material as gift for her friend who had just had a baby. I couldn’t resist making some for our baby too. They take no time at all to make using the pattern (link at end of this post) so I made three in advance of our bubba being born. I’ll attempt to make some more when we know if we’re having a boy or a girl. Hopefully by the time you read this we’ll know!

All you need is some material (it doesn’t have to be from Liberty’s! but oh boy their fabric is sublime), some terry toweling for the back, cotton to stitch it up and Velcro or poppers to hold it in place. I amended the pattern mentioned slightly as I suspect that the space for the baby’s neck is a little too tight. Another reason why I have only made 3 so far, I want to make them to measure.

Make your own baby bibs

Make your own baby bibs

Liberty of London baby bibs

Liberty of London baby bibs

If you’re into knitting, crochet or embroidery, check out the gorgeous New York based blog, Purl Bee, for some uber cool crafty inspiration.

Bib pattern click here.