“I can make that out of wood.” Anon.

This post was inspired by @postaday – daily blogging motivation from the folks at wordpress.com  It’s dedicated to someone who shall remain anonymous. If you’re a member of my immediate family you’ll know who this person is.

The challenge was:  “Pick a random word and do a Google image search on it. Check out the 11th picture that it brings up. Write about what that image brings to mind.”

I typed the word upcycle into Google and the below is the 11th picture which came up. According to Wikipedia, upcycling is “the process of converting waste materials or useless products into new materials or products of better quality or for better environmental value.” Yes, there’s a lot of “or’s” in that sentence.

I never cease to be amazed by all the beautiful and sustainable items which can be re-purposed from things which are either surplus to requirement or have reached the end of their previous life. My favourite kinds of upcycled things are made from wood. Ladders, pallets, floor boards, industrial cable reels and wine barrels can be turned into the most ingenious things.

These pictures are sadly not my creations. I have shamelessly ripped them off from Pinterest where I have started to create a scrap book of pictures which have inspired us to start to make more things from the kind of things which you’d find in a skip. Should I be ashamed to admit that my husband and I have been known to go skip-diving along our road when people have been ripping out old houses? Love it!

I have credited these pictures where possible. Hopefully they will inspire you to embark on your own upcycling project.

The kitchen above feels deliciously organic but even better is that it’s completely non-synthetic. The material it’s been made from used to be alive in a wood before it was a floor board or pallet. Yes, you can have kitchen islands made from oak but has that piece of oak got a story to tell? Taken from http://europeanchicdesign.blogspot.co.uk/

I love the above idea to display an assortment of picture frames. It’s made from upcycled pallets. This would look amazing in a hallway.  Taken from http://unconsumption.tumblr.com/

We are definitely into the above. I originally saw this in a magazine about a couple who have designed their home around upcycled items. Sadly I cannot remember who they are but these shutters are simply stylish. Our new house has a window just like this so we plan to fit some too. This shot was taken from http://unconsumption.tumblr.com/

How about a new bed or sofabed made from old pallets? This is exactly what I found on http://scraphacker.com/.

The final picture below finishes on a bright note.

I am aware that I have posted several times on Charity Chic about upcycling projects I am either in the process of creating or things which have inspired us for our new home but I haven’t actually featured anything yet.

Our challenge is to feature at least one piece of upcycled furniture in each room of our new house. We are moving later this month so watch this space in the spring for proof of our efforts!

Take a look at my boards on Pinterest to see more of the above. Click here:  http://pinterest.com/charitychic/

