Memories From Our Wedding Day. 1st June 2012

It’s been a long period of absence and I have missed you massively but whoa…. what a few weeks it’s been. I promise you I have a valid reason for a radio-blogging-silence.

For those of you know don’t know me personally, Ozzy & I finally tied the knot at Hanbury Hall, Worcestershire on Friday 1st June 2012 after a fairly lengthy engagement. It was absolutely the happiest day of my (and I hope my husbands) life so far so you guessed it, I simply can’t resist sharing some pics with you…. Most of these pictures were taken by Chris Barber – see end of this post for links to his website.

What was originally going to be a simple and intimate gig with 60 guests turned into a celebration of epic proportions for 140 people, starting at an 18th century National Trust house followed by a sumptuous feast and party at home which lasted until past 4 a.m. thanks to the banging DJ – Simon & Fran, you rocked it!

Hanbury Hall, Worcestershire. Taken on the day we had our run through. Sadly it wasn’t this baking hot on the day.

After looking at 90% of the wedding venues in the Midlands and not feeling the love at any, we figured we’d “just do it at home”. After all, we mused, how hard could it be? If you’d seen me one week before I looked anything but chilled. In true Liz and Ozzy style (we never end up keeping anything simple) we embarked on planning something individual to us. We blew the budget out of the window and threw a mahoosive bash for everyone we know and love. This was the third date we had set, the last being 18th May 2011 which we sadly had to postpone after my dear father passed away just two weeks before. My Dad was keen on a bit of a knees up so it felt right to rock the place in his memory and create the happiest vibe we could. Boy did we manage that!

We love spending our summers at festivals and under canvas wherever possible so when Ozzy found The Stunning Tent Company, we knew we’d found the perfect tent. Who cared if we had to build a stage for it to sit on?

Here’s behind the scenes erecting the stage and putting the tents up: http://gif.vg/p/pakv3von 

We did as much as we could ourselves – my sister designed and drew the blackboards, my cousin did mine and the bridesmaids bouquets plus my Mum’s corsage. We used all of our own props such as chinese bird cages from Hong Kong, old picnic hampers, vintage linens, charity shop sourced material for the yards and yards of bunting and age-old half puppy chewed rugs which sneakily covered some of the wonky scaffolding planks.

Coco

The only thing we didn’t do was slave over the food. Aubrey Allen (based in Leamington Spa, Warwickshire) provided the most delicious menu with a meze starter, a lamb tagine, salads with edible flowers, cous cous and breads with oils.  Desert was our wedding cheese cake.

Being a pre-loved obsessive, we tried to source as much second-hand as we could from family, friends, charity shops and eBay not least because it’s a great way of sticking to the budget. (Sort of…) Instead of uniform, white linen, I collected all sorts of pretty vintage napkins from charity shops, eBay, friends and family. They looked awesome – everyone had a slightly different one. It worked so well that I am going to sell the collection as soon as I have pressed them all ready for the next bride to delight upon. I also bought material from charity shops to make bunting which added a festive feel.

I did all the flowers in the tents (with lots of help from Susie, my Mum and Pauline – our sweet neighbour) the night before. We dressed the beams with ivy we had growing in the garden. My cousin William and Matt (Usher) worked their socks off collecting it and hanging it all.

Below is me and my godfather, Uncle James. He is my Dad’s brother and has lived in Chicago for the past 30 years. He gave me away. This is us just before we left home.

Me and my godfather, Uncle James who gave me away, before we left home.

The most important girls in my life below (except my Mum) from left to right – Susie (Maid of Honour), me, Lucy & Alice (my sisters). This is us right before the ceremony. We watched people arriving downstairs from an upstairs window giggling while drinking champagne to try to calm the nerves.

Newly weds – below.

We hired a vintage Moris Minor as our wedding mobile. My sisters boyfriend, Rob, was our chauffeur.

Below is Ozzy and his bro, Mo, at the reception.

Wine…. oh so delicious special 1995 Gevrey Chambertin which had been saved for a long time.

Below is the first public speaking Ozzy has EVER done – a pretty darn good job!

Cutting the giant summer berry cheesecake with Grant, the crow. The bird is there for a reason. In America one ‘eats crow’ not humble pie.

In America one ‘eats crow’ not Humble Pie.

There were no hotels nearby that we fancied stopping at so a few of us camped in the garden. I say camped, we collapsed into the tent as the sun rose at 4.30 a.m. Not pretty.

My 83 year old Grandpa, Ken, who celebrated his diamond wedding anniversary with my Grandma, Edith, in May. He was first on the dance floor. Ozzy & I were last.

My besties…. clearly mad. I have no idea where I was when this was taken but I wish I had been there.

Alice, my youngest sister, shows everyone how it’s done.

Kris – I love this pic!

How amazing do the tents look at dusk? Perfect.

So, yeh, we are basically bankrupt now so it’s jolly lucky I love charity shops really. I doubt we’re going to be able to afford anything but baked beans for the rest of this year. Thank god we have so much delicious wine left.

A giant thank you to every single person who was there… you made it.

To end, here’s some animated love from Emma, the most loveliest, beautiful and sweet photographer ever! http://heartfulloftea.com/

All pics taken by Chris Barber from The Barbers assisted by Emma at Heart Full Of Tea.. Awesome wedding photographers full stop. We love you guys!

I was inspired by lots of blogs when I was planning the big day so if you’re getting married soon, here’s some of the places I sourced things from: (click links for more info)

My Dress – Alice Temperley
My shoes – a dance shop store on eBay
My jewellery – second-hand, borrowed, vintage and a gorgeous diamond and pearl necklace from Ozzy as a wedding present
My headdress – originally made by Victoria Mary Vintage. Bought second-hand
Ozzy’s suit – Gieves & Hawkes
Our rings – custom made by my cousin Douglas Townsend (get in touch if you would like more info)
Wedding invites – The Original Wedding Tea Towel 
Tents – The Stunning Tent Company
Photography – Chris Barber @ The Barbers
Bridesmaids dresses & groom/ushers waist coats – designed by us girls and made to order in Hong Kong
Bridesmaid shoes – Dotty P’s bargains
Catering – Aubrey Allen (5 star quality and service – definitely recommended)
Wedding cake – English Cheese Cake Company (mouth-watering)
Wine – mixture of Tesco, MajesticLaithwaites plus some extra special 1995 Gevrey Chambertin we had knocking around
Flowers – mostly wild or from our garden with lots of extras from The Triangle Nursery 
Bird cages – the collection belongs to my Mum with some of mine and my godmothers
Homemade Honey & Vitamin E lip balm favours – made my me and my Mum. Bits n’ pieces sourced from Just A Soap and bees make honey
Mini bamboo steamers with a mixture of pearl bracelet favours – organised by my Mum (bless!)
Vases – my own, some from charity shops and others borrowed from family & friends
D.J’s – husband and wife duo – Simon & Fran (get in touch if you need a banging DJ – I’ll point you in their direction)
Cheese for evening buffet – The Cheese Shed

