Only a Grandma would be seen in that! Think again…..

It’s easy to look at something in a charity shop and dismiss it on the basis that only a Grandma would be seen in it. I’m hoping that this post proves it’s sometimes worth pausing and taking another look.

From past experience it’s precisely these rejects that end up looking the most individual. Think accessories because they are usually the key.

So, example one. 

My lovely Mummy, Jani, recently spotted the below at a charity shop she volunteers at; a pretty twin-set in a baby blue colour made from 100% cashmere. Both the cardigan and the top are in perfect pre-loved condition. She picked this up for £4. I teamed it with a pure wool mid-length skirt bought for £3.50 at Age UK and a set of pearls (fake) bought from a charity shop years ago.

For a more retro look, I added the below vintage pillbox velvet hat which transformed the outfit into something Granny would be proud of. The pillbox hat was also bought from Age UK at the same time as the skirt for £8. I am waiting for a wedding to debut this beauty!

Johnstons of Elgin are a luxury Scottish label – take a look at their site for some beautiful tweed and highland inspired treats for you, your man, children and home.

Moving on… example two.

This black lacey-but-not-so-racy vintage Miss Selfridge jacket/blouse/not sure what was in a charity shop in Bromyard (Herefordshire) recently. It’s precisely the kind of thing one could dismiss. It whispered Downton Abbey to me so I trusted my instinct, even if it looked like the kind of thing the Dowager Countess would rock up to supper in.  It’s well used and has got several apparent fag burns but they aren’t too obvious so it deserved a chance.

Let’s face it, it’s not exactly radiating chic vibes. I have no idea what era it is but it was only £7.

I’m liking the result. The shocking pink silk obi belt adds a splash of 21st century.

I am selling some of these gorgeous handmade 100% silk belts (plus some in an amazing purple) on eBay and donating all the proceeds to Macmillan Cancer Support as part of my London Marathon fundraising. Take a look here. (And buy one too please!..)

The moral? Keep an open mind and give one Grandma’s cast off the benefit of the doubt.

See you next time.

