Meet the Shabby Chic Expert – Reloved Vintage

If, like me, you love to add a shabby chic twist to your home, then you’ll absolutely love what Laura at Reloved Vintage does. She is the expert of vintage furntiture restoration, rescuing dated, tired or simply old bits of furniture and transforming them into unique vintage pieces.

I couldn’t resist asking her for an interview. Her stylish blog is inspiring, beautifully designed and enough to make you want to start hacking away at bits of old furniture right away. Before you act in haste and repent at leisure, read my interview with Laura. Enjoy!

  • Hi Laura, please can you explain in a couple of sentences what you do/what your blog, Reloved Vintage, is about?

I run Reloved Vintage, a blog about renovating vintage and/or unwanted items of furniture and homeware. I also feature my vintage charity shop finds and sometimes works from other designers that influence what I do.

  • So, what inspired you to start restoring vintage furniture?

I stumbled across the before/after section of Design Sponge and was instantly hooked on the idea of transforming a piece of homeware. I love the idea of recycling and upcycling to make something beautiful out of something that a lot of people would throw away. There are so many ways to transform a vintage piece from being out-dated to highly desirable and I love the creative process that comes with making decisions over how something will look.

(NB. I learnt a new word!… upcycling)

Antique Chest Of Drawers…. Before

I’ve been doing this for just over a year now, and have learnt so much in that time about different techniques and tools to use to create different effects. There is so much inspiration out there, and so many talented people doing it, that it feels like there is always something new to learn and experiment with! It doesn’t get boring. I recently began attending local street markets and fairs, and have loved it! It’s been great getting out and meeting lovely people and receiving feedback on my work, as it helps give me ideas for future pieces.

And After….Shabby Chic Chest Of Drawers Transformed!

  • Do you ever shop in charity shops? (I was fairly sure I knew the answer to this when I asked it!)

I shop in charity shops all the time! I absolutely adore them! I get a real buzz finding a vintage gem – be it a woollen jacket or a vintage teapot – at a bargain price! It’s quite addictive
once you get into it, and the stock changes all the time, so there’s always something new.

  • You clearly have a very creative eye. How would you describe your style?

My style has changed quite a bit since I started. In the beginning, I enjoyed using bright colours and a polished finish, but now I find myself more drawn to shabby chic, distressed pieces. I love experimenting with layering paint and varnishes, and have recently discovered chalk paint, which is so much fun to use. I guess my style is a mix of retro and shabby chic, depending on the piece in question. I have some mustard paint I am itching to use…

Bedside Table_Before

  • The big question I ask myself all the time… where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

It could go one of two ways! I am a magazine art editor by day (check out Trail Running magazine) and I love doing that. I fit Reloved Vintage in around my work, but I’m finding it really exciting seeing that grow, so who knows!

Table_After

  • Finally, share some blog love. Are there any other blogs you enjoy reading?

I love reading the Design Sponge blog. It’s what got me into restoring furniture in the first place and for me is a great source of advice and inspiration. I also read http://printpattern.blogspot.com which isn’t particularly vintage but often features beautiful illustration that can inspire my work for Reloved Vintage.

How to find out more:

For more information or to enquire about a commission, email relovedvintage.info@gmail.com

Like us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/RelovedVintage

Follow us on Twitter @RelovedVintage

You can buy beautiful homemade bunting from Reloved Vintage

