Proof That A Charity-Chic-Budget Can Stretch To Karen Millen

Karen Millen is my favourite British designer – everything they produce is cut to perfection, distinctively glam and finished with immaculate attention to detail. A Karen Millen item is an investment piece so given my Charity Chic shoestring ethos, I don’t often splash the cash there. In fact I go out of my way to avoid buying things in-store, instead keeping my eyes peeled in charity shops and more usually eBay for designer gear.

My sneaky tactic is to earmark items when they’re in-store and wait a couple of months for them to land on eBay which is exactly what I did with the below zebra print cardigan. This was a whopping £85 new (or thereabouts) but I managed to buy it second-hand (but never worn) for £15.

The below was for sale as part of a suit at the Acorns charity shop in Barnt Green. The trousers were slightly grim (plus I have a bit of a problem buying second-hand trousers) so I managed to persuade the lovely lady to let me buy the jacket separately – £10. Proof that a Charity-Chic-budget can stretch to Karen Millen!

