One of the boys…masculine aesthetics with a feminine twist

Earlier this summer, we went to the Lake District with friends for a weekend of camping and walking – cue the rain. On the Saturday it was particularly wet, grey and cold so we went to nearby Kendall for the day to find some cozy pubs to get drunk instead. Fun. Not missing an opportunity for a local charity shop inspection, I headed into the Cancer Research shop on the High Street. There was nothing of interest on the rails for girls but they had some beautiful jackets on the man side. Something caught my eye, a  pure wool Jaeger sports jacket (my Dad used to call them sports jackets, not sure if this is the correct term?). It’s in a gorgeous bright blue, nicely cut, cute pockets, very warm and in perfect nick for £16.

Initially I thought it would suit Ozzy but it was deceptively small so I tried it on. It’s clearly tailored for a man but what the heck. I liked it. The obi belt is still big news so I thought why not borrow some boy-style and see if I could combine the two to make the jacket fit a little better? I was thinking masculine aesthetics with a feminine twist. The upshot is it worked. My sister took a couple of pics of me so you can see.

The yellow leather worked really well against the blue wool. I accessorized the jacket with a vintage pearl brooch I bought from eBay. (See older post on these)

Inspiration

Want to know how to make this look work for you? Check out this Vogue A – Z Trend Report for Autumn Winter 2011/12 for some hot looks.

Here are a few buzz words to think about whilst you are raiding your grandpa’s wardrobe for retro man-wear…(Yes, I am suggesting that… if you can raid Grandma’s then why not his too?) Clearly charity shops are also a good place to look for the below so I would suggest you start here rather than your Grandparents!

  • Monochrome
  • Tailcoat
  • Cravats
  • Tuxedos
  • Braces
  • Pinstripes
  • Shirts not blouses
  • Brogues
  • Black
  • Cuflinks
  • Waistcoat
