One of my favourite labels – Shanghai Tang

I grew up in Hong Kong and went there last summer with Ozzy to visit my parents. Hong Kong is a well heeled place where people dress to impress. Hong Kong Chinese people take great pride in their appearance spending lots of dollar on gorgeous clothes and accessories. Even the market traders and street hawkers sell stylish quality stuff.  It’s a shoppers paradise to suit every budget.

It follows then that the charity shops there are quite often packed with top quality labels. Bliss! The best charity shop I know of in H.K is at St. John’s Cathedral in Central and this is where I bought this stunning Shanghai Tang jacket. I literally gasped when I clapped eyes on it. Shanghai Tang clothes are very oriental in their cut, design and colour drawing on traditional Chinese clothing for inspiration. I paid $200 HKD for this jacket which is approx £16… a bargain I think you’ll agree! It would have cost in the region of £100 new and has clearly never been used. It’s made from pure silk in shocking pink with a bright green oriental pattern. It could easily be worn with jeans for a smart casual look (ladies that lunch) or with a skirt as I did at one of my best friends weddings.

Ozzy took the below pic of me wearing the jacket at one of my best friends weddings recently where it was much admired. I wore it with a shocking pink silk A-line skirt… which you guessed it… I also bought from a charity shop! (blog to follow to the skirt sometime soon.)

